Buying Tickets on the Street: Easy or Infuriating?

For as much as I love heading out to sporting events and concerts, I have never bought tickets on the street outside the venue. I was curious what it would be like to try to buy tickets on the street so I headed out to the Northwestern Wildcats Michigan Wolverines game on Saturday to find out.

As I got off of the Purple Line, I was immediately approached by some gentlemen selling tickets for $200 to get into the game. I ignored them and went off to the stadium to find my friend. As I walked down toward the stadium, I took in my surroundings and walked past a number of ticket sellers. There was definetly a market for tickets.

I met with my friend and we walked around Ryan Field looking for a good deal. We were approached by many sellers, both male and female, with tickets priced for the game at $100 to $200 for tickets that originally cost $50. Keep in mind that neither of us had any intention of heading into the game; we just wanted to see what the experience was like.

As we continued to walk around, we learned that you cannot sell/buy tickets on Northwestern Property, so you had to step over onto the sidewalk. The cops also did not really seem to care; Evanston is more open than Chicago. We also learned that prices didn’t go down as much as you would think as it got later into the game. The cheapest we saw seats get midway into the second quarter were for $80. 

My friend and I witnessed a bunch of unhappy fans who came down from Michigan who were unable to get inside the game because tickets were out of their budget.

I would never want to buy my tickets on the street. Tickets are priced high and some of the sellers are characters. That’s why HappyFanTickets provides fans with a great service.  You are able to negotiate the prices with many of our sellers to a price you can afford. You also have guaranteed entrance into the game before you make the trip down to the venue.

It’s your choice: circle around for hours or buy your tickets through HappyFanTickets and walk right in.

Leave a comment